Just “messing” around!

MixedMediaBannerlarge

So I wanted to work on something for the Mixed Media Monthly challenge (this month is Stencils and Modelling Paste). Some of my favourite supplies to use, but the jury is still out on this one. I can’t tell if I have made art or just made a mess! haha that’s just the way it is sometimes I guess!

Working through some stressors at my job and not feeling the most effective right now and that’s what this page is all about. I have been fascinated with images and quotes from Alice In Wonderland lately, not sure what that is all about but I picked up the Spring Sprung Stampers Anonymous set the other day and the white rabbit stamp spoke to me!

day late dollar short

 

Also, I was going to print out and fussy cut a clock face and found some random paper in my stash to use. When I printed it, I noticed that the ink was beading on the surface so I flipped it over and use it as a transfer instead (right hand page, pretty much the centre). Kind of a neat accident, huh? Still don’t know what kind of paper it is, I found it in all my “junk” when I was helping my Mom move out of her house. I should really put it in a storage bag with a note about the transfer thing….

IMG_2003 IMG_2002 IMG_2001

Some closeups of the stenciling. Hmmph, still not sure..what do you think? Suggestions?

Other supplies include: Dylusions spray in fresh lime and vibrant turquoise, Mister Huey in amarillo taxi, Distress Paint in mustard seed and salty ocean, Liquitex modeling paste and gloss gel, Tim Holtz stencils Measured, Burlap, Splatters and Clockwork, some india ink by Daler-Rowney, Stampers Big Brush in black and white,  LSG Moon Shadow Mist in tawny turquoise and a cool little alphabet stamp set I got at Target.

 

The world is full of kind people; if you can’t find one, be one!

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Bowman
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 15:16:34

    What fun pages! I love how you added texture and the little rabbit. Thanks so much for joining us at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge.

    Reply

  2. Lynn Kopas
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 12:44:15

    Great texture on your art journal pages. I love the colors you chose. Thanks for joining us in this month’s Mixed Media Monthly Challenge “Stencils and Pastes”!

    Reply

  3. rachel
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 23:32:16

    great page! i love the alice bunny running late to the art journal party 🙂 Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!
    -Rachel

    Reply

  4. Lynn
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 00:49:26

    I just love how you played around on these pages! It’s so much fun to just dig into things like that, isn’t it? Thanks for playing along in the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!

    Reply

  5. Lalo
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 08:01:34

    What a great page. Love that little rabbit!

    Reply

  6. debbiejeanr
    Jan 27, 2015 @ 19:50:53

    Hey! I just found your blog! Love your journal pages Laurie! Beautiful! And I too love going down the rabbit hole! 😀

    Reply

    • Laurie Finch
      Jan 29, 2015 @ 22:46:19

      Thanks Debbie, glad you enjoyed having a look around my blog. I am a little hit-or-miss with my postings…that’s one of my resolutions this year, to become more intentional with my online presence!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

