March Birthday Blog Hop!

1796656_10203282378764033_2033870163_n

It’s another Mixed Media Chix blog hop!! Valentine’s Day was so much fun we decided to do it again! This time, we chose a birthday theme, which works out perfectly for me since my older daughter was born in March and turns…(eek! I can hardly believe it!) 25 this month!!

Of course I had to create a fun, fashionable card to celebrate this milestone birthday for her. Happy Birthday, Cait! Sending all sorts of love and hugs your way!!!!

25 and beautiful

I used a variety of techniques on the background for this card. First I stamped it with a background stamp. Then I sprayed Goosebumps  through a stencil to act as a resist. I sponged on Distress ink and gelatos to build up some layers and then I used some images fussy-cut from patterned paper for the focal point! My daughter  is quite the fashionista so I hope she likes this card!

Lots of our blog hop participants have family members celebrating this month including Maria whose babies turn 8 on the same day as my daughter! Here is the lineup so you can check out everyone’s projects:

Maria Levine 
Laurie Finch –you’re right here!!
Tracy Easson
Julie Odil
Sally Lynn MacDonald
Lisa Hetrick
Francine Rossoni
Rebecca Daniels 

I hope you enjoy our little hop, don’t forget to comment to win Maria’s generous prize and if you are celebrating this month – Happy Birthday to you!!

Supplies: Unity Stamps -Dinged Dots, ImagineCrafts – Goosebump spray, Crafter’s Workshop – Harlequin stencil, Tim Holtz Distress Inks – Old Paper & Black Soot, Faber-Castell Gelatos – metallic melon and DCWV Lady Couture stack.

~If you have not often felt the joy of doing a kind act, you have neglected much, and most of all yourself.~
A. Neilen

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MiSs MEKO (@MEKOfoSHO)
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 07:42:26

    Happy Birthday to your young adult!! Your card is darling!!

    Reply

  2. Laura Wile
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 11:37:28

    Laurie this card is beautiful. Just like you and Caitlin 🙂

    Sent from my I phone Lw

    >

    Reply

  3. Maria Levine
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 13:09:30

    What a super fun card! Happy Birthday to your daughter! Thanks for being a part of the hop!

    Reply

  4. Sally Lynn MacDonald
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 17:07:45

    Pretty fashionista! Happy Birthday to your daughter. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Laura wile
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 17:20:39

    Beautiful card Laurie for your beautiful daughter!!

    Reply

  6. tracyeasson
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 21:00:36

    Birthday wishes to your daughter…. Such a beautiful elegant card Laurie :-):-)
    Xxxx

    Reply

  7. scrapmad
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 21:01:43

    Birthday wishes to your daughter…. Such a beautiful elegant card Laurie :-):-)
    Xxxx

    Reply

  8. bekah
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 00:10:36

    Your card is beautiful! And no worries, I have you beat! My daughter turned 28 at the end of last year! Talk about feeling old….

    Anyway, I’m sure she’s going to love it! It says “style” in every way.

    Reply

  9. shartl
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 22:07:47

    Oh, this card is so beautiful and I love the effect from the stencil!

    Reply

  10. Julie
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 22:40:53

    Your card is gorgeous! Surely she’ll love it!

    Reply

  11. becki
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 23:31:06

    My birthday is also in March, but I left 25 behind a loooong time ago. Ummmm…that’s not right I am 29………….. for the 27th time. AAArggh!!!! How did that happen?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

