Valentine’s Day Blog Hop with the Mixed Up Media Chix!!

1796656_10203282378764033_2033870163_n

First time ever participating in a blog hop!! Should be a blast! If you just dropped in to my blog but want to follow the hop in order, just pop over to the Mixed Up Media Chix on Facebook and start at the beginning! If you are following along, you should have just arrived from Mona’s amazing blog, Cupcake’s Creations.

Now, I feel I need to be truthful here…I am not big on the whole hearts and Cupids, smushy Valentine’s day thing. I do enjoy giving my daughters cute little treat bags and special cards but since I am footloose and fancy-free (ie unattached) I don’t go in much for the candlelit dinner and roses stuff.  So my project is more about loving yourself, and more importantly, not relying on others for your sense of self-worth. Sometimes that’s a difficult thing to do with this particular holiday.

so here’s the finished page:

Love yourself

I have been working a lot in my art journal. I let go of the need for everything to be “perfect” and just use it as a place to express whatever creativity comes to mind…try it, it’s very liberating!!

I started with a charcoal pencil sketch, washed over that with gesso and then started roughing in the hair and skin colours. I used gelatos, watercolour pencils, distress markers and more charcoal to build up the depth in the hair.

project 3 rough hair

Then it was on to shading the face and creating the right expression in the eye.

project 5 eye shading

Used more gelatos to fill in a background. (I just love them, really, you can’t do it wrong!) Finally, after letting everything dry thoroughly (so difficult for someone as impatient as I!) I used the Stampers Big Brush in White to add my quote.

project 4 backgroundproject 6 quote

I hope you enjoyed this little peek into my creative process – I certainly enjoyed having you here! Next up on the blog hop is the uber-talented Rebecca, so head on over to see what amazingness she has to share!

In case you got lost along the way here is the complete list of hop participants!

1 Maria Levine – http://riacreations.blogspot.com
2 Francine Rossoni – www.thevellumjar.blogspot.com
3 Lisa Hetrick – http://www.lisahetrickdesign.com/in_the_studio/
4 Angeline Choo – http://scrappyscrappy.blogspot.com
5 Mona Pendelton – http://cupcakescreations.blogspot.com
6 Laurie Finch – https://lifeandlafter.wordpress.com
7 Rebecca Daniels – http://www.bloomingpink.blogspot.com
8 Julie Odil – http://muddypawsinkyfingers.blogspot.com
9 Tameko Mays – http://www.creatingmypeace.com

Supplies: FaberCastell watercolour pencils, gelatos, Stampers Big Brush in White, charcoal pencils, and of course, gesso.

Take care, my friends and remember to always be a little kinder than necessary!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angeline Choo
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 13:49:42

    Laurie, this is fabulous!! Love Love love! I wish I could draw so well 🙂

    Reply

  2. Maria Levine
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 14:55:29

    Wow this is amazing and so pretty. Beautiful job, LOVE LOVE what you did! Thanks so much for hopping with us!

    Reply

  3. Kelly Klapstein
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 15:59:38

    Wow…Laurie….I am amazed! I knew you were a talented crafter but an artist too? This is so wonderful, and that quote is perfect!

    Reply

  4. butterfly
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 20:41:59

    Magnificent – the shading on both the skin and that wonderful swirling hair is amazing!
    Alison x

    Reply

  5. Susan Pezza
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 20:49:47

    Awesome job, very talented!!!

    Reply

  6. lisahetrickdesign
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 01:04:48

    This is amazing! Just unbelievable. Thanks so much for sharing in the hop!

    Reply

  7. jpscraps
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 01:09:42

    Great work on the page! I love gelatos. They’re so fun to use.

    Reply

  8. bekah
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 01:58:00

    TRULY awesome. Just love the flow of the hair across the pages and the journaling WITHIN! Bravo.

    Reply

  9. gwenyt
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 04:42:46

    Your pages are beautiful and I totally agree about not depending on others for our self-worth! P.S. Your handwriting is GORGEOUS!

    Reply

  10. Lucy E.
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 04:50:08

    This is great!! The hair is gorgeous! I love that quote.

    Reply

  11. loulou
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 11:26:10

    Amazing drawing. I love the detail in her eye and depth of colour in her hair. That quote is fantastic. I am attached and still don’t subscribe to the whole flowers and chocolates day.

    Reply

  12. Julie
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 12:09:36

    I’m so happy to be a part of your first hop! Aren’t they fun? Your piece is wonderful! You are a true artist! I could learn so much from studying your piece.

    Reply

  13. Tameko
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 23:41:16

    Hi Laurie,
    This is beautiful. Its fabulous when perfection is forgotten. Thanks for sharing your process.

    Reply

  14. blueyedscrapper
    Feb 16, 2014 @ 12:24:03

    …ummm……WOW!! I am speechless! this is gorgeous!

    Reply

  15. MiSs MEKO (@MEKOfoSHO)
    Feb 16, 2014 @ 12:37:41

    Love your page.. I think I have a thing for the flowing hair.. with journaling and messages within it.. More of us.. need to learn to love ourselves more.. Thanks for the reminder!! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Iris Soscia
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 01:09:02

    This is gorgeous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

