Unity Colour Challenge – Carrie’s wedding gift

Hello there! It has been a busy September already, with trying to get my older daughter ready for her big adventure in the UK and my younger one moved into her new apartment and into her final year at University.  Not a lot of crafting time, but I did manage to create a canvas for a coworker who is getting married today. Lucky her, it is an absolutely gorgeous early Fall day here in northern Nova Scotia… the sun is shining brilliantly but it is just cool enough to be pleasant.

One thing I particularly wanted to show in this post is a tip I came up with for protecting photos on canvas’. I didn’t want to use modpodge or medium over the surface of the photo so instead I used a page protector to sandwich the photo between the canvas and the chipboard frame. Not sure if this is archival safe or not but it works for this project.

I used the colour palette from the Unity challenge and what stamping I did (there isn’t a whole lot, granted) is Unity stamps. You can find the challenge here – there is a colour challenge along with both card and layout sketch challenges each month – so fun!!

Here are highlights from the steps I took to create this canvas:

step 2

First I used a Workshop on the Go from Close to My Heart as a base canvas and for most of the embellishments. I didn’t really follow their instructions, I just did my own thing (story of my life, ha!) I layered on light modeling paste on the uncoloured zigzags on the canvas and used an unmounted background stamp to texturize them.

step 3

Then I enclosed the photograph between a page protector and used redline tape to adhere it to the chipboard frame.

step 4

I did the same thing with the small accent photo and tied twine around it to dress it up.

step 5

The next step was to start layering my pieces together. It takes me awhile to decide on my design so I don’t stick anything down until I am sure. It can take a couple of days or rearranging before I am satisfied. I stamped Unity sentiments on some of the chipboard components and sanded and inked them to give them a bit of a “weathered” look. I appropriated a paint chip from the hardware store to build up the necessary palette for the challenge. Judicious placement of the smaller embellishments is necessary to cover up the paint names!

step 6

I wanted to tie in the photo so I decided to make the title card look like it was carved in a tree. I cut out the names with my Cricut and using the negative piece, embossed it with a woodgrain folder. It matched the picture in my head, so that made me happy! 🙂

wedding gift

The final piece: I hope they like it!!

Supplies: Close to My Heart Workshop on the Go – Canvas Art, Unity sentiment stamps – assorted, Liquitex light modeling paste, Memento ink – Rich Cocoa, Ranger Archival Ink – Pale Ochre, Darice woodgrain embossing folder, TCI date stamp,

” A little spark of kindess can put a colossal burst of sunshine into someone’s day!”

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

