Snowflakes in August?

Hello everyone!

I don’t know what prompted it but I just had this idea for a Christmas card the other day. I also wanted to try a technique I had heard about in blogland somewhere but I couldn’t remember the exact instructions. So I decided to just wing it.

process 1

First I took my gel medium, acrylic paint and distress inks to create the background. I layered them on my craft mat and just kind of stirred them together with my fingers. *Disclaimer – this is a messy technique, if you have a problem getting your fingers inky you should probably just stop reading now* Then I took my piece of watercolour paper and smooshed it into this mixture. I pressed fairly hard in order to get through to the distress ink, which was the layer I laid down first on my mat.

process 2

 

I dried these well with my heat gun, being careful not to bubble the medium. I used a couple of stamps from the Unity kit from “snowglobe wonderland” with Versamark ink and Winter Wonderland embossing powder (white and silver) to scatter some snow across the background.  Then I “built” my window frame in SCAL (Sure Cuts A Lot) and cut it out with my Cricut. I inked the edges with Old Paper and stamped a greeting on the window sill. I stamped the little trees from the same set and coloured them with my Distress markers to create the little scene.

process 3process 4

I was trying to create the effect of looking through a window and watching the wind swirl snowflakes around.

And voila! An excellent start on my Christmas crafting!

winter window

Supplies: Bazill dotted swiss cardstock, MME Wonderful Winter patterned paper, Unity “snowglobe wonderland” kit, Memento Rhubarb Stalk and TH Distress Ink Iced Spruce and Peacock Feathers, TH Distress markers Pine Needles and Wild Honey, LIquitex Gloss Gel Medium, white acrylic ink, Winter Wonderland embossing powder, Versamark ink

Take care my friends!

We think too much and feel too little. More than machinery, we need humanity. More than cleverness, we need kindness and gentleness. ~Charlie Chaplin

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen N
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 03:54:53

    Love this! So pretty….gonna try it!

    Reply

  2. Tina Riddle
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 10:32:56

    Very pretty Laurie! Awesome technique and it should be lots of fun to try! Thanks for sharing it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

