Friends With Flair – Card drive package

Hello everyone!!

Despite a last minute trip to Halifax today to sort out some travel visa stuff for my daughter, I did find time for a very quick and easy card to link up to the Friends with Flair post over on the Unity blog. You can see everyone’s amazing creations here!

I whipped up a square 5×5 card with the sweetest little elephant from the “Could I be any Cuter” set. And really, no, I don’t think he could be any cuter!! The inside sentiment says “Don’t forget to be awesome today!”

Dont forget

This is not a standard size for me so I didn’t have an envelope the right size. Did I panic? NO, I used this opportunity to try out my brand new Envelope Punch board from We R Memory Keepers! I am a leftie and had heard some chatter that this might make using the tool a little difficult for me so I was anxious to see how it went. I found my card size and cutting dimensions easily enough on the face of the board and chose a fun coordinating patterned paper from Lime Twist by MME.

punch board 1

So, the instructions are straightforward enough. You line up your first side, score and punch and then just keep turning one quarter turn and scoring and punching until you have all four sides done. There is a handy corner rounder on the opposite side of the notch punch so that you can have a nice finish to the flaps too. I had no issues with being left-handed, but I am sort of ambidexterous with things, I think most of us lefties learn to be. So I did have to score with my right hand. Or you could get things lined up and then just turn the board around and score with your left hand. Definitely no biggie for me but you can decide if that’s a dealbreaker for you.

One kind of weird thing I did notice though. You would think that making a square envelope for a square card, it wouldn’t matter which sides you folded in and which you left for the flap opening wouldn’t you? Well, apparently it does. The first time I folded it I got this:

pb 3

It didn’t line up exactly..and while it wasn’t a huge deal, the perfectionist in me sort of went “Phooey”.  So I turned it one quarter turn and tried again. Ta-daa!

pb 4

A perfectly lined up edge. Now isn’t that strange? So the moral is; if at first you don’t succeed…give it a quarter turn!!

I am sending this little card (and 11 others) off to a really worthwhile card drive that Scrapbook and Cards Today is holding this summer. The donated cards will be sent to children and teens in hospitals across Canada and the States. I tried to make some cards for the older kids, but I think this little elephant could brighten anyone’s day, don’t you?

If you would like to contribute, see the SCT blog post here..I know they would be thrilled to receive your creations!!

Thanks for stopping by, friends and remember: kindness doesn’t cost a darn thing — sprinkle that stuff everywhere!!!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruby M
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 22:28:47

    Sweet card.

    Reply

  2. tenianelson
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 00:57:43

    Super cute!!

    Reply

  3. Jen M
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 01:58:15

    Such a cute card and I love your striped envelope!

    Reply

  4. Linda KAK hotwheels
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 02:18:13

    your card is preicous

    Reply

  5. Kary
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 03:58:00

    Lovely card, and I like the paper you used for the envelope.

    Reply

  6. Cindy F
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 04:01:37

    Beautiful card.

    Reply

  7. Danie May
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 07:29:58

    This is so sweet! I so love elephants.

    Reply

  8. Gaylynn
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 15:52:06

    Laurie, this is so sweet. Love it in the soft blue. And the envelope makes it even nicer. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Angeline C
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 16:17:39

    Omg super cute !!

    Reply

  10. Julie O
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 02:19:35

    That elephant is adorable, and I enjoyed your critique of the envelope punch board. I’m left handed, too, so I like to hear such feedback.

    Reply

  11. Lindsey
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 02:19:51

    This really is a perfectly sweet card. And good to know that the envelope punch works for us lefties, too! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Laura wile
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 11:14:31

    Cute! Love the envelope too. Great way to use up some paper!!

    Reply

  13. Mary Anne K.
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 13:30:22

    I think the sweet elephant was a perfect choice!

    Reply

  14. Rachel w k
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 19:29:55

    that elephant is so cute! great card. and that envelope punch looks so cool… maybe i need one for myself! 😉

    Reply

  15. jpscraps
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 22:35:26

    Love the card! Just my style….quick & easy 🙂

    Reply

  16. Donna Mack
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 03:43:36

    Adorable card and awesome envelope!

    Reply

  17. michelle k
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 19:18:08

    So cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

