Hello summer!

Whoo what a weekend! Some gorgeous weather, a trip to Halifax to visit with my girls, some scraptime with my best bud…life is good!

I stopped in to the Cutting Garden to have a little browse and found some things I “needed” 😉 The girls there are awesome! so friendly and helpful! I was so excited with my purchases I came home and broke them out right away. Summer is in full swing and one of my favourite places to go is Waterside Beach. I like to go early in the morning, or at sunset, so my pup can have a good run without bothering anyone. The light is so beautiful, and the low tide sandbars are amazing!

I will admit at this point that “process photos” might be a little scarce. I tend to get wrapped up in the creative process and forget about my camera!  I started with light yellow cardstock and a Mister Huey mask. I used Tattered Angels mist in Sunflower, and then I added depth with my gelatos. I really wanted to capture that golden light and the peaceful feeling of sand and ocean.

step 2

I always play around with placement of my photos and paper elements, so I don’t glue anything down until I am sure I am happy with it.

step 1

Mmmmm gelatos! My favourite art supply at the moment – such luscious colour!

yummm

With the gelatos, I just scribbled on my craft mat and then used my waterbrush to pick up colour and add it to my page. I used the mask, and also did some freehand. I dragged the text paper through the watered down gelatos too, to add some colour.

step 3

I cut the title out with my Cricut and stamped the little vellum tag with Memento ink.

closeup

The final result? A layout that captures the memory of  evenings at the beach perfectly and satisfies my need for inky, messy fun!

hello summer

Supplies: AC cardstock, Stampin Up text paper, Mister Huey mask #331268, Tattered Angels mist – Sunflower, gelatos – Butter Cream, Mango, and Cotton Candy, Memento ink – Toffee Crunch,

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

