August already…

I mean really, August? can’t be! But indeed, time marches on whether I like it or not, apparently.  Trying to wrap my heart around the fact that in about a month my older daughter will be heading off to an amazing adventure teaching high school in England and my younger daughter will enter her 4th and final year of her Public Relations diploma. When exactly did they grow up and how did I miss it?? 😥

All right, back to the task at hand. This week there was a fantastic challenge over at Unity {show and tell} to use our Itty-Bitties and I did get two days completed. I have discovered that I work best when I don’t try to force it…deadlines are not my friends, lol. But it was a fun challenge and there is lots of really, I mean REALLY, beautiful cards and projects to drool over. So go check it out.

Last night I went to visit my very best friend (shout out to Laura!!) and do a little playing with ink and colour. We had a lot of fun, as usual, and also per normal did a lot of chatting and laughing and significantly less actual craft work. So when I awoke at 7am on my Saturday off (thank you Sass, my charming canine alarm clock!)  I decided to finish off the card I’d been working on. Nothing really fancy here, I used Distress inks to create the background  and gelatos and markers to colour the image. Here are the supplies:

awesome supplies

I smooshed (you are familiar with smooshing, yes? just squish those juicy Distress ink pads on your work area, add a little water and then press your watercolour paper into the puddles. Give it a try, very satisfying I promise you!) green, blue and light purple ink for the background, added a few shakes of black ink and stamped the sentiment in black as well. I overstamped this background with Artistic Brick using the purple ink. I coloured that rockin’ Jo Fashionista with Distress markers (whoops, I see I neglected them in the picture!) and discovered that the peach gelato makes a very nice Caucasian skin tone and lends a creamy finish to the image.  I felt Jo needed some “ink” in another way, so I added a couple of tattoos using a Pilot G-2 pen. (After I had the pictures taken, I also gave her a diamond nose stud with an atyou Spica Twinkling Like Stars glitter pen. She is now one trendy gal!)

Here’s the closeup of the tattoos:

grafitti closeup

The sentiment inside reads “I think U R awesome!” and this card is going to be included in the Cards for Kids drive from Scrapbook and Cards today.

Finished product, ta-daa!

U R awesome

Hope you enjoyed my very chatty post this morning, haha! Make the most of whatever today brings you, my friends!!

 

Supplies: Ranger TH Distress inks – mowed lawn, shaded lilac, salty ocean, Ranger TH distress markers – tattered rose, faded jeans, Unity stamps – Jo fashionista, artistic brick, for reals. Faber-Castell gelatos – peach, silver ice, Pilot G-2 black pen, atyou Spica glitter pen

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina Riddle
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 12:00:56

    Oh my I just love this card! I saw so glad that you explained how you did the background with the distress inks. I need to pick up a few more shade of the T.M. Distress Inks and try this! Thanks so much for sharing Laurie!

    Reply

  2. Julie
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 12:03:57

    Very inspiring, I may just try some of these techniques! Great card, love the tattoos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lulu Art

A place to share mixed media arty goodness!

CreativeKady

All Things Creative

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

The Cutting Garden Papercraft Studio

The Best Little Crop House In Town

My Thoughts Exactly Stamps

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

The Stamping Boutique

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

Unity Stamp Company

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

simply me

creative imaginings from Laurie...after.

